Crossing the Fitness Chasm: How to Move from Beginner to Intermediate

In fitness, just like with any skill, you won’t stay a beginner forever. I’ve seen many people graduate from beginner territory in fitness without knowing, and this leads to problems. Let’s look at how to recognize when you’re no longer a beginner and what to do next.

Source: Crossing the Fitness Chasm: How to Move from Beginner to Intermediate

There are lots, including myself, who focus on the minutiae of fitness (diet specifics, calorie counting, macros, etc.) when they should just be getting in there and doing the work. I think they get overwhelmed from making such drastic changes and lose their willpower instead of getting in a routine.

I wouldn’t categorize myself as “intermediate”, more like “beginner plus”.  I’m learning more about how and what to do, pacing.  There’s a base to work from – a foundation – but if that makes me “intermediate”, then there’s a lot more levels …or “intermediate” is wide and vast.

