The Last 10 Percent: How to Push Through a Project When You’re Nearing the Finish Line

Remember the excitement you felt when you launched headfirst into your latest project? Every door was open and the opportunities were endless. But then, if you’re like most people, you start to stumble near the finish line. And all that momentum and drive that got you to that spot seems to just disappear.

Source: The Last 10 Percent: How to Push Through a Project When You’re Nearing the Finish Line

A couple of years back I met someone who told me about a swim meet where they swam so hard, they were so exhausted that they could not get themselves out of the pool.  They were embarrassed that they had to get help to get out.  I disagreed – getting out of the pool wasn’t part of the competition, so I’d much prefer to finish knowing that I really did try my best.

On a similar note, I was in my first significant distance cycling event.  I will never forget how I lost started to power down when I saw the signs counting down the distance to the finish line.  The closer I got, the worse it got.  I’m more experienced now, know myself better and train better now so it’s not an issue.

