Anyone Can Make This Two-Ingredient Butter Sauce

This past summer I had the opportunity to step behind the doors of a restaurant kitchen. This is a place I don’t venture often, but when I do get the chance to sneak inside, I am eager to grasp onto any little chef’s trick or tip I may come across in this uncharted territory.

And on this particular occasion, I hit gold. The chef was preparing baby potatoes for our dinner that evening. While I’d most likely roast them whole with olive oil and garlic, he instead dropped them into a pot of creamy, pale yellow liquid where they’d be poached. That liquid wasn’t broth or a funny-colored water: it was beurre monté.

Source: The Secret 2-Ingredient Butter Sauce You Need to Know About

I’d suggest using stock instead of water. For extra flavour.

