“You Limit Yourself By Having Low Expectations.”

A friend of mine at the gym at school got sponsored not too long ago.  He does physique stuff (hasn’t actually competed, but is still jacked enough to pick up a sponsorship.  Pretty legit), so we come to a discussion with totally different paradigms.  He has helped me a lot with “feeling” muscles that don’t seem to want to fire properly, and I help him with approaching strength-based programming.  It’s a surprisingly productive relationship for a commercial gym.

Source: “Strong” Is Determined By the Size of Your Pond

I have my own personal goals that are much less open ended than being strong. I specifically want to be able to do certain things and feel a certain way. I do not understand this open ended quest to be “strong”. Strength without purpose to me seems like a potential waste of time and possible injuries.

Heck, I don’t get any open ended goal. It’s kinda like just saying I want to be rich. I don’t. I want to be secure, with a house paid off in 15 years, and the ability to at least have the option of only working part time. Just chasing an idea of rich is going to cause some unneeded sacrifices and perhaps even lose some great opportunities because I didn’t understand what risks I could take, trying to sock away money with no real end goal.

And also, I don’t worry about others and what they’re doing because their needs and life path are not mine. I only worry about how I’m achieving my goals and if I’m doing my best to get to those goals. And also throwing in there reflection time to re evaluate those goals, for wants and needs change over time, you need time to think and make sure yesterday’s goal is still today’s goal.

