Maximize a Fridge’s Efficiency by Letting Leftovers Cool Before Storing

Our refrigerators are constantly at work keeping our food cold and safe to eat, but we rarely give them much love back. To keep your refrigerator functioning optimally, consider these seven tips, which can also help you save money on your electricity bill and avoid unexpected repair costs.

Source: 7 Tips for Keeping Your Refrigerator Running Efficiently

For some things, I’d recommend not just letting it cool, but actually expediting cooling. When I cook stocks, stews and other things that will retain a lot of heat, I’ll empty my ice maker into the sink, fill with water, and put the pot in it to cool faster (actually, I vacuum seal portions, then immerse the bags, but I’m probably unusual in that respect). I believe this is SOP for restaurants with stock, which can actually take long enough to cool that nasties can grow in it even if it goes from stove to fridge, with or without “room temperature” cooling in between…

The FDA recommends you don’t let food sit out any longer than two hours or so.

